Sign in to follow this  
gill hall

School teachers

gill hall

I am a teacher and I have Addison's, other autoimmune diseases, sticky blood, high blood pressure and I am overweight

I had a crisis in summer 2018 and it was scary-  I was awoken with several concerned doctors around me. I think they thought my heart was going to stop. It went down to 21. This was only hours after vomiting. I had a chest infection in Jan and my breathing was an issue and I had to go to the out of hours GP at 4am. I have been stringently social distancing with separate everything in my flat that I share with my son. Although it is not statutory for schools to open and our LEA have left the descision to Headteachers, our head is ready to go: he has a plan for 1st June which involves getting all yr 10 in: teaching 10 classes a day each made up of 15 kids and I teacher with a teacher who is a runner - checking all is OK now and again. He said staff will teach on rota in alphabetical order and he will be teaching every day. I'll be in the first round if I go in. We will have to teach 3x50 min lessons a day. I feel very pressured to go in as the head emailed us all and in the email says some staff have long term health conditions and are insisting they return to work and that he is very grateful. I don't know who they are or what their health issue is. I sent the head a doctors note saying I had to stringently social distance and work from home with quotes from the clinical advisory panel etc. I did not get a reply and on his risk assessment for people like me : " vulnerabl Part of me feels it's like there is a war on and I need to help educate the kids and I have to go back sometime but then I get terrified. I'd be glad to know if there are other teachers out there and what is happening to them.

suep1954

Hi Gill

What a worrying time for you.